22 March 2011

In Which I find it impossible...

...to comprehend it's only Tuesday.

So my director decided Monday would be a good day to realize exactly how much she hasn't done to get this play ready. We still haven't blocked the final scene and she says we aren't professional. Needless to say, it's frustrating. Then add the fact that every teacher decided this week would be a good week to assign every test and project possible, frustrating. Pile on my lack of Independent Study due to French play rehearsals that barely anyone shows up to, frustrating. Garnish with my impending service hour deadline and my lack of opportunities through which I can earn service hours and an all-around sore body from lack of sleep and moving around giant set pieces with minimal help because other ASMs are incompetent, and you have Frustration Nation.


I'm rarely this pissy, but my month is sucking with no chance of turning up anytime soon. I can't break my reputation for being the comic relief that doesn't have problems or stress, only witty commentary, so I have to take it out on my poor blog. I'm gonna have to get happy soon just so I can blog good things and feel better about blogging the bad stuff.

Currently reading Mockingjay and Nation of Rebels still.
Currently listening to The new Panic! at the Disco album, Vices & Virtues on repeat. It came out today, I love it so much.

13 March 2011

In Which I Write for You...

...as a means of procrastination.

It's the last day of Mardi Gras break and I just want my life to be like the past week all the time. I got to spend time with almost all of my friends and ate a ton of junk food. I also spent nearly all of my last two paychecks. Whoops. Simply so I can remember, here are the events (both good and not-so-good) of Mardi Gras 2011.

Friday I had a half-day of school so I spent my afternoon at the mall with Hannah and her sister and then finally watched The Social Network with my step mom. It was nice bonding before she went out of town and the movie was great.

Saturday I had taken Anna's shift so she could go to Endymion so I worked 10-5. The power went out from 1-2. It was crazy, I was so glad I could experience it. The owners wouldn't let us close but we couldn't sell anything while the registers were down so it was anarchy. We had our phones out behind the counter for light and at one point we were all just sitting on the floor telling stories. Needless to say, one of the most abnormal shifts at work. After work I slept at Hannah's house and we had a photo shoot with my web cam.

Sunday kind of sucked because I couldn't go to the parades uptown (Endymion was postponed due to the crazy rain that caused the power outage plus Bacchus and Thoth) because my dad is afraid of the city, so after work, Hannah left to go to the parades with Kathleen and not me. Instead I watched 4 episodes of SNL and went to 30 minutes of the Metairie parade while all of my other friends sent me pictures of the city at Mardi Gras. I was mildly bummed.

Monday, I worked again (I love my job so this is good news), this time with most of my favorite people. Hannah and Olivia surprised me and picked me up from work and we had a small adventure. :)

I spent Mardi Gras day in Metairie with my family. Basically the last way a teenager wants to spend Mardi Gras (and I don't even drink, I just like my friends and the city) Mardi Gras Day is mostly for the tourists anyway, the locals do most of their partying the Saturday and Sunday before.

Ash Wednesday I went bowling in Harahan with my lunch table. It was a lot of fun hanging out even though I didn't actually bowl. I also got Tutti Frutti and Popeye's (I'm a bad Catholic) which were delicious.

Thursday started rehearsals again; I was so excited to see all of my friends in the cast again. I had gotten used to seeing these people every day after school and this was my first time seeing them in a week. We worked on the set from 9-12 (I was DJ) and had rehearsal from 1:30-6:30. That left us an hour and a half to use as we pleased, so I ordered in Reginelli's pizza and Courtney and I had a picnic in Lakeview. Or, we tried to have a picnic in Lakeview. All was going smoothly until we sat in some ants. I have seven bites on my ankle and they itch terribly. We ate and talked about boys in the backseat of her car, but for all intents and purposes, we had a picnic.

Friday was more rehearsal and then Cast Tower Friday. It's an STK tradition that during Lent and show week, the cast (or as much of the cast as who wants to come) all go eat cheese pizza at Tower of Pizza together, because Tower of Pizza has the best cheese pizza near school. We take up nearly all of the tiny place but we have a waitress that loves us and always helps us. It's always an awesome time (so I hear, this was actually the first time I'd ever been with the cast) with awesomely hilarious topics of discussion. After dinner, Bailey, Leo, Yvette, and Ashley wanted us to go "get twisted," a Holy Cross theatre tradition. We proceeded to the nearest Wendy's for twisted Frostys. I'd never had one before, but oh my God. Now I have lived. I got chocolate cookie dough, yuuuuuuuuuum. People slowly started leaving until 6 of us remained at got kicked out because Wendy's was closing. That's how late we were there. So we talked outside, then got cold, then talked in Charles's car, then got tired, then went home.

Then we got right back up and went back to rehearsal Saturday morning. We finished up early though so Katherine and I went to Chick-fil-a (my favorite). But not before I, lowly assistant stage manager, convinced a room full of actors that the director decided we needed to stay late not leave early. I will never let them live down how gullible they were. I also worked again Saturday night with Hannah and Daniel and Brian, so yay.

Now it's Sunday. My friends are at the St. Patrick's day parade, my step mom and sister are on their way back from Huntsville, Alabama, and I have homework I should be doing. But I liked this week too much to forget it. Plus, I had to get a blog in for the week :)

And that's what you missed on Glee!

Currently reading nothing. I know I suck.
Currently listening to "Hakuna Matata." :P Gotta love shuffle

02 March 2011

In Which I Listen...

...to this song for a bit because it's relevant.

In the past few days, I've fallen into this inexplicable funk. I don't know why, nothing in particular is wrong (I sort of wish there was something wrong so I'd have an explanation for this mood, that's how depressing of a mood I'm in). I try to never let things bother me, like the fact that the director doesn't care about the play I'm working on and isn't even in town and I fear that the show is gonna suck. Or the fact that I'm nearly positive the guy I like doesn't like me like that at all. I have no reason for any of that to be bothering me, but I can't think of any other reason. If you're reading this, please help cheer me up. Unnecessary sadness is one of the sadnesses I dislike the most.

I keep forgetting that next week is Mardi Gras and I'm off of school. I have no plans at all outside of work and rehearsal because all of my friends are going to nothing but parades. I'm at an impasse because I hate the suburb parades (and none of my friends are going) but I'm not allowed to go to the city parades. I'll probably rent a bunch of movies and have a feast. After the Academy Awards, I'm dying to watch The Social Network, The King's Speech, Inception, Black Swan, and Exit Through the Gift Shop (it was nominated for feature documentary). I can also catch up on Doctor Who (I'm in the middle of season 3). :)

Currently reading Nothing! I need to fix this! I still haven't finished Mockingjay, so that's probably what I'll pick up tomorrow.
Currently listening to "I Belong to You/ Mon coeur s'ouvre à ta voix" by Muse